chesapeake bay rental


   Welcome

   Available Dates

   Home Amenities

   Sleeping
   Accommodations

   Building
   Layouts

   More Features

   Wedding
   Destination

   Testimonials

   Special Events
   Information

   Scrap Booking

   Things To Do & See

   Photographer's
   Dream

   Kiteboarding
   Windsurfing

   Kayaking, Canoeing
   SUP & Water Sports

   Lighthouse Tours

   Rental Rates

   Brochure Info

   News Update

   Contact Us

   Directions

 

 

Testimonials

Vacation Rental Guestbook

Exclusive Private Estate on Bay - Beach, Pool, Dock


Many of our previous renters have written notes to us in our guestbook regarding their stay at our Chesapeake Bay vacation resort.

We would like to share some of their sweet and kind comments with you.

Marie Ransome

 

(5/18 - 5/22/2017)   Wedding Celebration

We held our wedding celebration at Ransome’s Chesapeake Retreats and couldn’t be happier with the end result! It has beautiful scenery, plenty of space outside, and a lot of room inside to accommodate two fairly large families staying for the weekend. There is a lot to do on the property to keep guests busy and many historical sites to visit in the surrounding area.

We have a few helpful recommendations if you are planning your wedding at RCR estate:

1. Find a full service rental vendor so cleanup is a breeze. With just family helping to clean up and put away rentals afterwards, this can be a daunting task; so choose the vendor carefully. Ours required setup and breakdown for all rental items with the exception of the tent and dance floor.

2. Make signs that direct guests to the wedding. We created the signs to direct guests after we arrived and realized both Google and Apple, provided inaccurate directions. The best directions are on RCR’s website, www.chesapeakeretreats.com.

3. We highly recommend Old Salty’s which is just down the road to cater your event. Everyone loved the food!

4. Our cake, which we couldn’t speak more highly of, was from Julie Bakes in Easton. She is great baker and we received nothing but compliments.

Marie and Percy were very helpful in accommodating setup before check-in, general logistics of parking on the property when the guests arrived. They give great prior information on what is expected from their guests during their stay.

           Jonathan and Claria

 


(April 2017)   Excellent Property

We were a group of 35 people stayed there over the last weekend of April. It is just a perfect vacation home for large groups. The property has a separate fun center where you can engage people over the evening. The Kids loved it too. There are multiple beds and rooms very conducive for accomodating large groups. They had tie up with a company who provided Kayaks for rent.

They were very flexible and nice too. The property owner Marie was one of the sweetest and helpful person EVER!!!! I highly recommend this property and we are sure we will come back once or twice every year!

           Prashanth J.  -  5/11/17

 


(3/22 - 3/24/2017)   PLENTY OF SPACE TO SPREAD OUT!!

Last week our company held a corporate retreat at the RCR estate. The 3 buildings gave us plenty of space to spread out. People who like quiet time, found their own space. The younger ones stayed in the Fun Center where they could play pool and/or ping pong.

As the designated "chef" for our group, I had all the cooking supplies one would need. There were lots of pots, pans, utensils & such to prepare & serve meals for 30+. It all worked & everybody enjoyed their stay at Ransome’s retreat! Our group was pleased to have such beautiful scenery all around us, right on the Bay!

           Joe w/Comcast  -  3/3/17

 


(arrival 2/15/2017)   GREAT PLACE FOR A WORK RETREAT!

My organization rented this property for my team's work retreat. We have around 30 people and stayed for 3 days and everything was great! The owners were very flexible and accommodating, and readily available and responsive if/when we needed assistance.

What a gorgeous place to spend a few days! The weather was a little windy (but that's expected in February), but you really can't beat the view. The buildings were clean and there was plenty of room for meetings. We had to have a few people share beds (so if you'd like each guest to have their own bed, you may want to either rent the love boat or have less than 30 people in your party), but everything worked out well. I'd definitely recommend this rental to anyone!

           Kimberly Harlow
           The Humane Society

 


(12/27 - 12/30/2016)   Our 2nd stay in a beautiful, whisper quiet setting for our annual retreat

We were happy to return to Ransome's Chesapeake Retreats, our 2nd stay at this beautiful retreat/estate. To best describe the place, it’s your dream location in a whisper quiet, gorgeous, and peaceful setting. The houses are kept in really good shape with new appliances.

We took 30 members from church to have a small winter retreat. Everyone loved it and want to come back again for our annual retreat. The whole rental process went very smoothly. I want to truly thank Marie for giving us the best retreat experience.

           Pastor Mike

 


(August 2016)   PERFECT ENVIRONMENT FOR CORPORATE TEAM BUILDING & STRATEGIC PLANNING!

Our nonprofit organization had the pleasure of staying at Ransome Retreat for a week of team building and strategic planning. The location and property were the perfect environment for our event, giving us plenty of space to work as a group and enjoy nature in our down time. The property owners provided responsive, clear communications, and were committed to our happiness. Looking forward to the next opportunity to reserve Ransome Retreat!

           Rachel H.  -  1/9/17

 


(September 2016)   THE GAME ROOM KEPT EVERYONE ENTERTAINED!

RCR retreat is scenic, secluded and the perfect space for a group getaway. The game room kept everyone entertained and it provides space for people to play while others gather to socialize, cook, or eat. The pool is perfect for a lazy hot day and more active people can enjoy the water onsite for kayaks or other water sports. Runners and hikers have plenty of space to roam. Quite literally, fun for all!

           Thomas S.  -  11/4/16

 


(October 2016)   Beautiful scenery and perfect facilities for our retreat

In the past, we've done our annual choir retreats at places like camps and conference centers, and I was worried about having it at more of a vacation property. I shouldn't have worried -- the facilities were perfect for the 35 of us who came out for the weekend, and it was a wonderful opportunity for singing and bonding.

Marie was helpful, the listing was accurate, and the place was clean and well cared for. We can't wait to go back when the Harriet Tubman museum has opened nearby. We only wished we could have spent more time exploring the area -- but we were there for singing, and sing we did!

           Lily R.  -  10/27/16

 


(10/31/16)   An Amazing Venue

We recently celebrated our wedding at Ransome’s Chesapeake Retreats renting Oct 28-31, 2016. We wanted an informal but scenic location that would could turn into a “destination wedding” for our family & friends. We found this place after doing some digging, and we couldn’t have been happier once we finally came across this estate.

Our wedding hosted over 150 people. While there is no facility on site to hold a group of that size, we were able to rent a tent and portable toilet trailer to accommodate our wedding guests. Every single guest was amazed at the venue, with its views and charm. We were asked repeatedly how we found this place. The retreat is very secluded which provided us with no time limits or curfews.

The estate provided comfortable sleeping arrangements for 30+ of our family & friends who stayed with us. This is not a luxury resort, not to be expected. But it is clean, comfortable, and has quite a bit of charm & character. All 30+ who stayed with us enjoyed their stay and had no complaints. The facilities were clean and well-tended to. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of sheets and towels available to our guests.

We can’t thank Marie and Percy enough for providing us with an amazing unique venue for our wedding. We wanted to do something a little less traditional but still have it be charming, and this was the perfect setting for such an event. With tons of room to roam, our guests spread all over the retreat just exploring the sights and paths. The sunsets over the bay are spectacular, and I think every single guest we had took pictures with the sunset. We had a cookout Friday night for our "rehearsal" dinner and used the grills provided at the retreat to cook for over 90 people with no issue. We used the fire pit by the pond all night as a gathering point. It is just an amazing place for people to come and relax and enjoy good company. It was too cold for us to use the pool and do any water sports, but the hot tub was a big hit!

Marie and Percy were very accommodating to our needs and wants for our wedding. Their requests of us and our guests were very reasonable, and we couldn’t have been happier. And as a host of a wedding, nothing was nicer than being able to go to bed after the wedding, and not having to worry about cleaning up till the next day! The price was exceptionally reasonable, and we have already discussed a return trip for a family reunion or something similar. Ransome’s Chesapeake Retreats really is a special unique place that made our wedding incredibly memorable.

           Megan & Rob

 


(10/17-10/23/16)   A wedding celebration & family vacation combined

We decided to have a destination wedding to celebrate our love & commitment to each other with our family & friends along -- a get-away/vacation that everyone could enjoy! We could not have picked a better location for our wedding celebration!

The estate was equipped with everything you could possibly need, especially the kitchen, fully stocked w/utensils, pots/pans, etc. The rooms were great, allowing us to invite several people to stay with us! The bedroom set ups made it very easy to designate spaces for slumber parties or privacy! Having access to washers and dryers in each of the homes was a great asset! There are several areas that were kid friendly, offering fun things for them to do.

We were able to enjoy beautiful sunsets, kayaking, sitting around the fire pit sharing stories, playing tennis, enjoying it all with our friends and family!! all the while making sweet memories! We had lots of ping pong & pool tournaments - great FUN! The Ransome's Chesapeake retreat is an excellent vacation location, and an extra special place to celebrate, especially a wedding! We could not feel more blessed to be able to share our wedding in such a beautiful atmosphere with those we love. Truly amazing - a wonderful memory maker!

We can't wait to come back and visit, hopefully for a family reunion next time!

           Mr. and Mrs. Aaron Kellogg

 


(10/05/16)   A Dream Bachelorette Weekend!!!

I was looking for something (somewhere) special to hold my daughter's bachelorette party where all the girls & our future bride could come together to have a great weekend at an awesome Resort. We found just what we were looking for & more at Ransome's Chesapeake Retreat!!!

The hot tub and pool with the LARGE screened in porch were the highlight, along with the unforgettable view of the Chesapeake Bay!!! We played pool and ping pong in the Fun Center and kayaked on the Bay, which was all the recreation we needed, along w/lots of girl talk, of course.

All the bridesmaids enjoyed everything and said they would love to come back again in the future with their own families!!! There were lots of bathrooms & with lots of ladies, there was no waiting line!

We ended our stay with a family crab feast including all the men and children who are still talking about the time we spent there and how much fun they had!

Thank you so much Marie and Percy for supplying such a incredible experience for your guests; We have sweet memories of our time there that will last a life time and we are sincerely grateful.

Much Love to you and your family,

           Jay & Susan Meredith & family

 


(8/12/16)   Wonderful time in a beautiful setting

We rented Ransome's Chesapeake Retreat for a family reunion. We had 20 adults and 15 children, ages 22 months thru 15. Everyone had a great time. The setting was great. There was lots of land to explore, crabs to be caught, wildlife to see, ships to watch, a screened in porch to sit and catch up, and a pool. The Fun Center was great for the kids. They even put together their own talent show and held the event In the fun center.

We did have some problems with the automatic pool vacuum, but the handyman, John answered our questions, stopped over, and got the pool repairman there first thing in the morning. Not many places have such a responsible and nice handyman. He was much appreciated.

When planning a reunion with so many people, it is hard to find a place where everyone gets a bed. This was the perfect place.

We all had a wonderful time in a beautiful setting. We would recommend this retreat for anyone planning a family reunion.

           Nancy M.

 


(7/30/16)   A PERFECT PLACE TO HOLD AN EVENT!!!

Our family loved all the amenities the retreat has to offer: fishing, swimming, cooking marshmellows by the campfire, walking trails, playing yard games & indoor games, tennis, ping pong, pool table, & more more more....

My favorite part was that RCR estate is COMPLETELY PRIVATE!!! And of course the views are amazing!!!!!!

Marie & Percy were such a pleasure to work with. We are thankful to have had an amazing backdrop for our family reunion!!

Hugs & Blessings, Kim

           Kim
           Anne Arundel County in MD

 


(7/7/16)   Wow! We all fit!

When my extended family started looking for a place where we could all be together for an extended visit, the options were few and far between. We like to plan a group vacation every three years or so... but our group keeps expanding. We have three more little characters added to the role call since the last vacation, and during our week at Ransome's Chesapeake Retreat, we heard news of a new arrival coming by the end of this year!

We were particularly excited to have a separate bedroom for all our families while still being able to use the Main House kitchen to feed everyone.

Days were mostly spent lounging on the screened in porch in the shade enjoying the breeze with a jigsaw puzzle overlooking and talking with anyone who was floating in the pool. But, we are also an active bunch! We rented kayaks and had a rotating schedule of boaters, one of the teenagers hosted a tennis clinic for the younger kids on the tennis court (maybe not a regulation court, but it did the trick), and we enjoyed the bean bag game provided in the game shed. We even caught a few crabs in the traps at the dock.

The nearest town of Cambridge is a bit of a hike (30 mins?), but we found ourselves there almost daily for groceries, or other odds and ends. We were able to find very efficient and responsive medical care when the baby spiked a fever one night. We also traveled to the bird sanctuary trail for a bike ride and over to Hoopers Island for dinner at Old Salty's on our last night together.

Prior to our rental week, the Ransomes were simply a phone call away to answer any question a member of the family had. They gave us a great recommendation for a chartered fishing tour. Once we arrived, they were equally attentive to meet our every need. When the wifi needed to be reset, they helped right away. Thanks, Marie and Percy for all your help!

           Katherine Z.

 


(5/12/16)   A restful place to relax, and an expansive location to meet with a group - both indoors and outdoors

I hosted a small family reunion at the Ransome Chesapeake Retreat in April 2016 with 15 overnight and 30 day guests. The location was perfect for our event and I highly recommend it.

We used the Fun Center to host a lunch gathering and it was perfectly equipped to entertain 30 kids and adults and provide tables and chairs for food and seating. The overnight accommodations were comfortable and there were way more beds and bathrooms than our group could have used - even if all the day guests had spent the night!

The owners were very helpful and provided suggestions for places to obtain food and entertainment items. The most notable feature of this excellent property - and there are many - is its access to the bay and the grassy meadows that adjoin it. The property is surrounded by a private nature preserve that allowed us unrestricted access to the views and sounds of the bay from the estate buildings, trails, overlooks, and sandy beaches. We spent much of our time at the sandy cove directly opposite the Main House listening to the wind and the surf, watching osprey and watching the kids catch crabs and collect shells. I highly recommend this location for any family who loves the bay, privacy, nature, a restful place to relax, and an expansive location to meet with a group - both indoors and outdoors.

           Sean M.

 


(4/9/16)   Perfect Place for a Work Retreat!

We had a wonderful time at Ransome's Chesapeake Retreat! It's a perfect place for a work retreat. There were great spaces for gathering both indoors and out. Plenty of fun activities to do for all ages - we fished, hiked, played games and had an evening at the fire pit. The peaceful and relaxing setting with great a sunset view cannot be beat. Everyone enjoyed our stay and we'll look to return when we plan our next retreat.

           Jane
           Baltimore, MD

 


(12/14/15)   absolutely amazing weekend

It's been 24 hours since my party has left the Ransome Retreat and the feedback I've received has been entirely positive. The most common sentiment I've received is - "wow, how'd you find this place and when can we return?" I want to thank Marie and Percy Ransome for sharing their home with us, as we could not have selected a better location for a reunion. During the entirety of the day, we enjoyed all kinds of outdoor activities, including fishing, relaxing on the sun porch, a game of 'touch' football, and checking out the scenic compound through several well-worn treks. At night, our group congregated by the hot tub and the Game Center, and both locations proved to be ideal locations for the group and allowed our party to spread out and enjoy each other without feeling like we were hurting for space.

I was very appreciative - as was my entire party - that the amenities were up-to-date and all in fine working condition; in fact, the bedrooms were much bigger than I expected and were perfect for sleeping a modest sized group. I would recommend the Retreat to parties where everyone appreciates being together without feeling on-top of one another. There's PLENTY to do, see, and experience, and despite the "stress" of dealing with various logistics related to travel, throughout my stay I felt completely relaxed and at ease. Thank you again to Marie and Percy, we had a wonderful experience and look forward to many future returns.

           Benjamin P.

 


(9/21/15)   Beauty on the Chesapeake!

I just returned home after an amazing weekend stay at Ransome Chesapeake Retreats. We had a college reunion with 16 grown men and the accommodations could not have been better. First off, the location is outstanding. Every where you look is water. Your stress level simply melts away as you take in the clean air and the calm bay breeze.

The house(s) are very clean and everyone had practically their own room! We took advantage of the beautiful weather and setting and were outside nearly 80% of the time. The 'Fun Center' was a big hit and countless 'Pong' games were played. We are already discussing brining everyone's family back next year.

Old Salty's is a great restaurant 10 minutes away with phenomenal people and food. I highly recommend renting kayaks or canoes to explore the waterways (one thing we did not do, but will in the future.) If you are having a large group function or family reunion this is the place to go! All of my friends kept asking, where did you find this place! I cannot say enough about the location and will commend Marie Ransome (owner) on her follow up, availability, and need for our group to enjoy ourselves!

We are already identifying our weekend for next year!

           Michael G.

 


(9/4/15)   Perfect retreat for rest, relaxation, and all needs!

WOW! We really can not say enough good about the time we spent at Ransome's Chesapeake Retreat. We had more room than we needed, for sure, but our "honeymoon" was complete because our entire chosen family was able to be there, spread out, and do all the things we wanted. Some of us spent time following the footsteps and historic markers of Harriet Tubman. Some of us went on bay cruises, to see light houses and fish. *We ate well that week, plenty of blues and one Cobia- a true bay surprise! Many of us "personed" the crab pots, steamed, picked and ate away our catch! Three kitchens meant easy prep and oyster schucking! Mostly we just drove, toured, got lost and found again and enjoyed the beautiful settings,incredible sunsets, wildlife and AMAZING screened porch! Meeting Marie, Percy and Friends at Old Salty's was a fun surprise too! Such wonderful, and friendly, down to earth folks!

           Lynn R.

 


(8/5/15)   Fun time

Kites in the air, steaks on the grill, canoes slithering through the sea grass as the eagles and ospreys appear looking for fish as they fly over the open water, sunsets ablaze with every color, black berries ripe and sweet – welcome to Ransome Retreat. Our family of almost two dozen enjoyed the hospitality of the Ransome family for four consecutive summers, wonderful times of just enjoying one another and the lovely Bay setting. We as a family love this retreat facility and especially so this year with the new screened porch beside the swimming pool in which our youngsters learn to swim and us old-timers just float, watching billowing clouds overhead. The privacy, the use of all the marvelous facilities, the relaxing atmosphere all contribute to a peace and well-being that we surely need. We owe the Ransomes a round of applause for their care of us and of the neat facilities.

           Don
           Lancaster, PA

 


(7/7/15)   Celebrated our 50th anniversary w/family and friends at RCR Bay Retreat

We wanted to thank you for a great time at the Bay retreat. Everything was as advertised & people were happy & comfortable with the facilities. Watched a glorious storm cross the Bay on Sunday night & it was a fitting close to the weekend. Old Salty's restaurant did a fine job & delivered lots of delicious food. Enough for an army. Your place was nicely furnished with lots of supplies. It was clean & tastefully furnished. Could not ask for more!

           Bill
           Saint Inigoes

 


(7/6/15)   So thankful that we choose this place for our long awaited reunion!!

Absolutely gorgeous place away from the city life, very peaceful and close to nature. We had our reunion here this summer for couple of nights and we are very thankful that we choose this place for our long awaited reunion. Totally loved the beautiful serene atmosphere. The owners were so helpful because they extended our stay for a few more hours as we had a bad storm on our second night there. A lot of places nearby had lost power but thankfully we had power and felt secured in the middle of the wild life preserve. We experienced the calm and the violence of Mother Nature in the same vacation period!

The house was well equipped. You name it and it was available. We did not find the need to adjust for anything. Ample linens, impressive kitchen equipment, plenty of dinnerware. The house was kept clean and everything was in working condition. The best part of the house is pool and hot tub. The pool was really clean. Also, we spent a good time at Fun Center playing pool and table tennis. Lots of fun!

We enjoyed our stay and felt that the vacation was too short and wanted to stay for a longer time. We definitely would reconsider renting this place again. Thanks a lot to the owners for providing such wonderful facilities.

           Svaty
           Virginia

 


(7/1/15)   Ideal spot for our family reunion! It exceeded our expectations!

We looked at a lot of places on the Eastern Shore for a suitable place for a family reunion. We found lots of options but some were quite expensive, and none of them held our entire group of 28-30. When we found Ransome's Chesapeake Retreat, it appeared to be the ideal spot. It was only when we arrived that we realized just how perfect it was. Not only could all of us be in one place, but we could be together in an absolutely beautiful setting. We spent each day outside either at the pool, playing bocce or wiffle ball on the lawn, playing tennis, kayaking, or just relaxing and taking in the breath-taking scenery. The gorgeous sunsets over the bay capped off each day. It was hard to pull ourselves away at the end of the weekend.

Having a large family group, we also really liked the fact that there were three separate buildings. It gave people some room to spread out, and our younger generation enjoyed taking over the Fun Center to play pool and ping pong each night. There was ample room for everyone to sleep and we even had a few spare beds. The expansive lawn was well kept as was the landscaping around the buildings and the pool. The Main Home is an older one, but it is very well cared for, clean, and has an Eastern Shore charm that we loved. We could not have hoped for a better weekend. It exceeded our expectations.

           Al
           S.Springfield, VA

 


(6/29/15)   Best Bay Wedding Location!!

When we first saw this location as a potential location for our wedding, we fell in love with it! It was exactly what we wanted - a very secluded, private stretch of land right by the Bay. The long, dramatic driveway that leads to the bay breezes was the entrance we wanted. The idea that we had no neighbors & wouldn’t have to worry about making too much noise was incredibly appealing.

There are multiple locations on RCR estate where we could have had our ceremony there is a large pond, a great walkway down to a tree near a small bridge. And, for smaller weddings, there's a platform right next to the bay. The place is so picturesque & has so much versatility that you just can’t go wrong!

There was plenty of space to put up a reception tent, plenty of ovens/grills/refrigerators for the Chefs to prep & serve the food. It worked perfectly to serve the food right out of the Fun Center. We rented kayaks & had our friends bring & dock their boat right there. (There’s a boat ramp for easy entry into the water/bay.) We fully utilized the outdoor space, made good use of the fire pit & corn hole boards. This really made our wedding so special & fun.

We used the Main House for me (the bride) & the bridesmaids to get ready in, while the groomsmen got ready in the Cottage. Having multiple homes on property was perfect to keep w/tradition & so bride & groom didn't see the bride before the ceremony! We had our immediate families stay on the property w/us that night & had a small brunch the next day. The wedding day goes by so fast that we really appreciated being able to have them on property w/us for an extra day or two.

The best part by far was how easy it was to work w/Marie & Percy (owners). We had been to so many venues that wanted to charge us up to $1,000. extra if we didn't use their preferred vendor list. Not that way at RCR! Because there is no Vendor list we're obligated to use, this really allowed us the freedom to have our wedding the way that we wanted. We were able to choose the best vendor for each service, & could DIY as much as we wanted! This allowed us huge opportunities to save $$. We brought in our own alcohol, which most caterers & locations mark up almost 3 times as much as it costs, allowing us a big save!

Also, since we were so remotely located, we didn’t have to "shut it down" at a certain time. It's seemed so sad to me to have someone else tell me when our wedding was over after months & months of planning. Percy was also incredible enough to be onsite during the wedding if anyone needed help - like a ladder, or if a fuse blew, or a vendor needed an additional power source. Having this was a God-send! It was a great peace of mind to know that an expert of the property was there to help.

Percy also took the most amazing pictures of our wedding & sent them to us! It was so thoughtful - I couldn’t imagine the other sites we looked at being so generous or thoughtful to do something like that. He also spread the word about a lost diamond bracelet. Their Caretaker, John actually found it in the expansive lawn & mailed it safely back to us! I can’t imagine another venue who would care to take the time to do this & to be honest about it.

Plus, Marie & Percy were so helpful w/all the questions we had. They helped us find whatever we needed locally, like ice, firewood, kayak rentals, etc. It was so awesome to have their insight whenever we were trying to find or locate something.

If you're looking for a beautiful bay wedding, the freedom to customize it your way & super amazing people to work with, look no further - you’ve found it at Ransome's!

Thank you!

           Megan S.

 


(6/11/15)   A Wedding to Remember!

We could not have held our daughter's wedding at a better venue. We wanted a weekend event so that the two families could spend quality time together and we got everything we asked for and more. Our approximately 160 guests had the option of enjoying a charter fishing trip; daily cook-outs; roasting marshmellows over a bonfire; ping pong; pool; basketball; tennis; swimming pool; hot tub; shore fishing; kayaking; hiking; a Sunday brunch and, of course, the wedding!! In the end, it was more than a union of two people...it was a union of two families. Now, that's a wedding celebration!

           Father of the Bride
           Bel Air, MD

 


(6/4/15)   Great time at Ransome's Retreat

We rented all 3 houses for our group of 18 adults and 7 kids between the ages of 3 months and 18 months. The place was perfect for our group. It was clean, had plenty of space for all of us and offered plenty of activities. Marie was a pleasure to work with and was extremely helpful in making recommendations. She even connected us to a local business that rented us kayaks. Our group would definitely go back next year for our Memorial Day Weekend trip.

           Brad
           Alexandria, VA

 


(4/22/15)   Great fit for Non-Profit Group!

PALS Programs creates immersive experiences where young adults with Down syndrome and their peers have fun, grow as individuals, and develop transformative friendships. Our work is led by incredible volunteer leaders (ages 18-26) who take time out of their daily lives to help make our programs amazing. Twice a year we seek out a location to bring our leaders together for a training and team-building session. We are always looking for a place that provides meeting spaces in large and small groups, while also a place that has a little more character than a typical hotel. The owners of the estate provided fantastic customer service right from the start, working with our group as a non-profit and helping to ensure we had everything we needed for our weekend retreat. We rented a bus to transport all of our volunteers (about 27 of us) who flew in from BWI and when they arrived on Friday night, they were wondering why we picked God's country! for our retreat. As the sun rose on Saturday morning and they all peered out their windows, we all knew we were in the right place. From the view of the water to the spacious privacy of this beautiful place, the Retreat was a great fit for us. Our volunteers took turns hanging out in the game room, to walking out on the dock, to sitting around the fire pit, to cooking large meals in the kitchen. This was the first location where there was no need for us to bring air mattresses - plenty of bed space! And plenty of bathrooms, sheets, and towels so our volunteers did not have to bring extra supplies. All in all, we left feeling confident that we'd want to return and that the little extra drive gave us a great deal of extra freedom and just enough space to daydream and make big plans about our programs. Thanks!

           Jenni - PALS
           Herndon, VA

 


(4/15/15)   Great weekend with a large group of good friends.

The estate had enough beds for everyone! The trails around the property were a lot of fun to explore. The views and sunset were fantastic. The fire pit was great. Lots of yard space for activities and games. The hot tub was perfect. The extra tables and chairs made for an easy set up for group dinner. AND, the owners were accessible and easy to work with. Highly recommend!

           Alex K.

 


(4/8/15)   Thank you for a weekend where we played, worked & worshiped our Lord w/our church family!

This was our 2nd stay at your estate! What a great stay! All 3 homes are very clean & very well organized, especially to hold large groups. We used your folding tables & chairs for all our meetings/dinners & for our praise & worship time, as well. There was a lot to keep us entertained from sports games to board games. Next time we will definitely stay longer! We will be highly recommending the estate to everybody!! Thank you!

           stanislav d.

 


(1/4/15)   WHAT A GREAT PLACE TO COME TOGETHER FOR FUN AND RELAXATION!

Enjoyed the comforts of home - wonderful place to relax - beautiful! We had a fabulous time together, just special, a cherished time celebrating a 60th wedding anniversary!! & our 2 year old twins - a generational gathering that doesn't have often enough! Fall is a sweet time of year. We had lots of fun making memories... took lots of pictures of our time together!

           CARM
           North Wales, Pennsylvania

 


(1/1/15)   what a wonderful reunion/vacation

We celebrated our 6th family reunion,coming together from around the country! There was plenty of room for our large group of 33+,all ages and everybody had a blast!! Enjoyed a local historian who spoke to our group in the Fun Center where the owners provide folding tables and chairs for gatherings, dinner together etc. The historian was outstanding! Highly recommend her to future groups who stay at this beautiful estate!! We played games inside and out. Everybody loved the game-room, especially the kids! Laughed ourselves silly around the evening campfires...crazy stories..What a treat! Thankfully, breezes off the bay kept away any bugs. The facilities were perfect, lots of linens, towels,dishes;kitchen was fully stocked. Thanks for a sweet time together...

           Mimi
           Harbeson, Delaware

 


(12/28/14)   We had the most perfect wedding celebration ever.

How fortunate for us that we found Ransome's Chesapeake Retreats!! It's out of the way, quiet, beautiful, secluded & romantic - perfect for a wedding celebration! Plus, it's right on the Chesapeake. What a view! We actually attended our friends' wedding there a while back, fell in love with the beauty of the surroundings, with all that it had to offer & decided this beautiful estate is where we'd also celebrate our own destination wedding! So glad we did!! Our guests raved about the location, even said it was the best & most unique wedding they had ever been to. (We thought so, too!)

If you love the outdoors, want to have a relaxed, more personal touch, yet still exciting, wedding celebration, this special retreat is for you. It is a rare find for any gathering but especially for a wedding where family, friends, loved ones gather to celebrate & be a part in sharing the love of a very special occasion. RCR offers a different experience from a traditional wedding - relaxed, fun, no stress - and the celebrating went on all weekend!! Not just for 5 hours. We had the most perfect wedding celebration ever!!! Someday we'll be back to celebrate our anniversary!! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

           Jan
           Cherry Hill, NJ

 


(12/17/14)   We’ll see you for our 3rd annual retreat at Ransome’s Retreat in 2015!!

Marie & Percy, We recently returned from our 2nd retreat at RCR. Again, our church group was re-energized at our annual gathering where we came to work & worship together - singing & praising our God in such a beautiful setting - in God’s country!! The kitchen was well stocked w/cooking utensils, etc. & plenty of linens for our large group. The Fun Center is perfect for our meetings, with the ability to come together in a large room. We appreciate the cleanliness of the homes & the beauty of the outdoor surroundings!! Thank you for sharing your beautiful estate with us! We had a great time! See you for our 3rd annual retreat at Ransome’s Retreat in 2015!

           Bruno - Young Adults Group NUBC
           Silver Spring

 


(12/17/14)   All the comforts of home in this beautiful nature setting!

Needing a place to gather with our children and grand children, whom We had not had together for a long time, this Retreat was the perfect choice. Not a hotel, and not a resort. No this was just a beautiful estate nestled on the bank of the Chesapeake Bay with all the comforts of home and the setting of natures magnificent beauty! The home is fully furnished and the 27 of us were extremely comfortable. The Fun Center had lots to keep us entertained, but the best part was how everyone wanted to absorb the natural outdoor setting and activities. The pool was very popular! A GREAT place to unplug and enjoy those you care about in this natural environment.

           Pminyon
           MEDFORD, NJ

 


(12/16/14)   Spectacular setting, fun for all. Great family time!

Thank you for sharing your beautiful Retreat w/our family! Fabulous time was had by all at our family reunion on this peaceful estate! Made special memories we’ll never forget…… family from VA, DE, MO, CA, OH, NJ, PA & all the way from Hawaii! 5 generations!!!! 30+ family members!!! We had an engagement celebration, 2 birthday parties… played lots of games in the Fun Center & outside!! Tennis competitions, kayaking. Amazingly, we all fit around the fire pit!! special times together… We got great pictures of such amazing scenery in every direction; Took pictures while out on the kayaks, relaxed in the hot tub! Enjoyed the comforts of home! Thanks for the opportunity to “play like crazy” here!! AND to reconnect w/each other!! Enjoyed it all!!

           MaryAnne
           Wagram, NC

 


(12/1/14)   Plan to rent this location again in the future...

I have rented this location twice and have had excellent experiences both times. The accommodations are a bit rustic but similar to any beach house I have rented in the past. They provided linens and towels which was nice for our group since we had so many people coming from all over the world. The grounds are lovely and significant improvements were made between my visits. Whether it was spring or summer there was wild life and nature all around us. Firewood and propane were provided for camp fires, 3 grills were available for cooking, there are tables and chairs provided for seminars and meals, in fact they had many things I needed for entertaining large groups and next time I won't have to pack so many catering items. The owners and managers are very friendly and were available for anything day or night. I will certainly be renting this site again in the future!

           Ginie
           Baltimore, MD

 


(8/2/13)   Highly recommended

I wrote the first review for this place, and discussed how it didn't meet my expectations. Well, the owner of the property contacted me immediately after seeing the review. They wanted to know details about my concerns and why I was not thrilled with the property. About 3 weeks after hearing my concerns, I was contacted with a property update. The owners went through the house and replaced all of the old linens and pillows with nice new ones. They also purchased extra for anyone who wants to use more. The cleaning staff has also been replaced and the owners expect the new company will do a much better job. Also the excessively high grass around the property was cut down, making it much easier to walk around and see the bay. I am really impressed with the responsiveness of the owners. They even sent me pictures of what's been done to improve the place. I would definitely stay at this property again.

           bds
           Hershey, PA

 


(Summer)   Family had a wonderful time

Dear Marie & Percy,

Our family had a wonderful time together (at RCR). The weather was fabulous & everyone found fun things to do. The most popular was the pool……

To let you know how meaningful this week (vacation) was to us, I will tell you that the next evening after we returned home, my husband was taken to the hospital by ambulance. He had a stoke & is now paralyzed in his right arm & leg………

Our family is so grateful that he was able to enjoy the week with his children, grandchildren & great-grandchildren together having fun.

Your retreat is lovely.

           Margaret

 


(July)   Family reunion was wonderful and relaxing

"It's never easy returning to "real" life after a vacation, but it was especially difficult this time since our family reunion was so wonderful and relaxing. We all had a great time at RCR. Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic facility with us. All agreed that RCR was the most beautiful spot we have stayed during our 15 years of family reunions. It was like staying at our own resort/wildlife refuge.

We were never at a loss for things to do and the scenery was awe inspiring. Additionally, my mother insisted that I inform you that the kitchen was as well stocked as any place we have stayed. Our vacation could not have been better. Thanks again."

           Bill
           Leesburg, VA

 


(October)   Beautiful site for our wedding!

We were so lucky to find this beautiful, out of the way site for our wedding! We both spend a lot of time working and playing on and around the Bay, and we couldn't have found a more perfect place to start life as a married couple together. We even had a couple of juvenile bald eagles fly over during the ceremony. The retreat is also a great place for a function - our guests really enjoyed all that you had to offer from the hot tub to the pool table, even throwing their kayaks in the water and going for a paddle before the wedding! So many people came up to us that weekend and told us that we had found a wonderful place to have our celebration, even proclaiming that this was the best wedding they had ever been to. Our only regret was that we had to leave so soon and return to normal life.

If you are an adventurous couple who loves the outdoors and all the beauty of this special corner of the Eastern Shore, Ransome's Chesapeake Retreat is a real find as a wedding destination. The property offers natural beauty, relaxation and seclusion, without having to sacrifice comfort. It's the true antidote to the wedding industrial complex.

Thank you Marie and Percy - we'll definitely be back for our anniversary!

           Sara and Dave

 


(August)   A beautiful place

How can we thank you enough for such an amazing gift? Five days surrounded by God's beauty in such a peaceful place.

In a place this beautiful, it's so easy to hear God's voice and sense His presence. When that happens, you can't help but be refreshed. We enjoyed walking, exploring, boating, beach combing, crabbing, fishing and soaking in the sunsets. We're going home refreshed and renewed - and grateful for your kindness.

           Laurie

 


(June)   What a perfect wedding.

We couldn't have imagined anything better. The setting was perfect. The week before, we went paddling everyday and enjoyed the amazing wildlife.

The guests thoroughly enjoyed the property - many came early to the events so they could boat, walk or just enjoy the view. My nieces and nephews learned to fish and were excited to see turtles. Everyone raved about the property and commented on how lucky we were to find such a place...and we agree! Thank you for everything.

           David and Sheri

 


(June)   Felt at home

Thanks so much for letting us stay at your place. As the wind blows the rushes, and a lone seagull swoops, the lull of the waves make me feel at home in a place I never knew.

           Bridgette

 


(April)   Enjoyed our stay

I have enjoyed myself again. Thank you. Now I can face my job Monday with a smile. God bless.

           Martha

 


(June)   Family vacation

A marvelous place for a family vacation. Grandparents and grandchildren alike enjoyed our week together!

Fishing, canoeing, bird watching were all an exciting experience! And the sunsets were a memorable sight.

           the Shaws, Smiths and McLeans

 


(April)   Family had a good time

Ransomes, what a beautiful place you have here! It is like a window of heaven where we can have a glimpse of God's place for us. We had a family Easter Service. Your place is so ideal to feel and sense the presence of God. We as a family had a good time just hanging out together and enjoying each others company surrounded with beauty and serene atmosphere. The sunsets were incredible. The Rossonis.

           the Rossonis

 


(July)   3rd reunion at RCR the best so far

I stand on the crows nest looking out at the Chesapeake, amazed that such a place can exist so close to Baltimore, D.C. and Annapolis. This was the 3rd reunion of my father, brothers and friends and the best thus far. We attended mass and prayed for, among other things, fish...and we caught them! Maybe 30 rockfish in all, but only one keeper....and it sure tasted good! Beautiful sunsets and a relaxing hot tub. We had a great time and hope to return.

           Ed

 


(June)   Great fishing trip

Thank you for all your help in making our fishing trip a most enjoyable one. I can't thank you enough!

           Bruce

 


(September)   Lovely retreat

Fell in love with your retreat immediately upon our arrival so clean and peaceful. We will no doubt be back.

           Jacko

 




Call us at 1.888.726.7863 for your next Maryland eastern shore vacation.

Email us now

 

   For reservations or further information, please contact Marie & Percy:
           888-726-7863  (Toll Fee)            856-981-6612  (Marie's cell)
           609-975-8127  (Work)            215-350-1165  (Percy's cell)
           609-257-3719  (Work Fax)            856-231-8873  (Home Fax)